5 Things You Need to Know About Adoption in Arizona

While a popular course of action – for both adoptive parents and birthparents – is using websites to post and respond to ads for adoption, we have a better alternative. To receive adequate knowledge and resources from the start of your adoption journey, we recommend talking to an attorney in Arizona, like Stuart & Blackwell. With our support, you can gain a comprehensive understanding of your rights and obligations when it comes to being an adoptive parent or birth parent and avoid adoption pitfalls that can be easily alleviated by the advice of an ethical and experienced adoption attorney.

  1. Arizona is adoption friendly for all married couples.
    Historically, same-sex couples were disadvantaged and struggled with being given the same preference for adoption. However, now Arizona is an adoption-friendly state for ALL married couples. Now that same-sex marriage is legal; same-sex couples have the same rights as other married couples when it comes to adoption. And, of course, Arizona is adoption friendly for single parents as well.
  1. Consent for adoption.
    Many states have a revocation period after signed consent for adoption, but Arizona does not. A consent for adoption in Arizona can be signed as soon as 72 hours after the birth of a child. Unless there is fraud, duress, or undue influence, the consent is irrevocable.
  1. Birth mothers are the decision-makers.
    Even if the birth mother is under 18 years of age, the state of Arizona recognizes a mother’s consent to place her child for adoption. She is typically the one to give this consent unless she legally loses her rights or is deceased. The birth mother is also the one who decides which adoptive family she wants for her child.
  1. Birth father consent. 
    The only time consent for adoption is required of the birth father is if he was married to the birth mother within the 10 months preceding the child’s birth or if he is on the child’s birth certificate. If either circumstance is true (biological father or not), he must sign a consent for the adoption, or a court order will be needed that terminates his parental rights. If the mother identifies a potential father, who is not her spouse and is not on the child’s birth certificate, that man is entitled to a Notice of Adoption. If a potential father fails to assert his rights, consent for adoption is not required from him.
  1. Stepparent adoption.
    While most adoptive parents need to be certified as acceptable to adopt, stepparents do not. If the child’s other parent is alive, they must provide consent to adopt unless the court has terminated their parental rights.As a firm, we aim to provide accessible and accurate information about adoption and other family law matters. If you need more answers to your questions, please contact us today to learn how we can help you with your Arizona adoption.